Sunday Ride

It was a cool windy day today, but I am determined to get in a few more long rides on my road bike before putting it away for the winter.

Since the winds were from the southwest today, I decided to ride to Mississauga to my dad’s place for a visit.  It took me an hour to ride there.  Whenever I would drive by the hydro corridor crossing Tomken Road south of the 407 I would always be tempted to stop, but its not a good place to pull a car over.  One of the things I like about riding a bike is how easy it is to stop to take pictures.

Love all these hydro towers so close together.

IMG_0404edit

It was almost 25 kilometres one way.  Other than around places of worship, traffic was very light and most drivers changed lanes to pass me.  I think the very bright flashing LED light I have started to use on the back of my bike draws drivers attention to me and causes them to change lanes which is exactly the behavior I want.

After a visit and a bowl of butternut squash soup I was on my way.  The ride back, even though up hill, wasn’t too bad with a tail wind.  I had to stop to eat a pear just south of Steeles as the soup wasn’t very filling.  I also grabbed this image at the top of the bridge over the railroad tracks at West Drive south of Steeles.  I like these colours together.  Perhaps I will use this picture as inspiration for a quilt some time.

IMG_0410edit

I also stopped at Starbucks at Bramalea City Centre for a coffee and pumpkin spice scone.  It was good, but I often find scones to be a bit dry and this one was no exception.

Owen started a class today in video game design.  I would be pleased if he started to use the computer to create rather than just play games.

 

About Lisa Stokes

I am a stay-at-home mother of four whose hobbies include photography, quilting and cycling. I have recently started to advocate for better cycling infrastructure in my community. I am photographer and librarian at the Brampton Quilters' Guild. I build and maintain a community ice rink in my local park.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

